Why I’m a Noob: My Shaq-Fu Confession

So I’m not gonna lie here: I’m a bit of a noob when it comes to gaming.  Now, I don’t mean that I just discovered video games yesterday or that I straight-up suck at them.  Oh, no.  I remember my days of hardcore gaming as a kid, playing Shaq-Fu long into the night, while Super Mario Bros. sat to the side collecting dust for years.  I mean that I’m honestly, truly still getting into inner gamer, learning which kinds of games I like and what genres I’m most skilled at.

WAIT, what? Hold up. Did you just say Shaq-Fu?

Yeah bitch.
Yeah bitch.

I think you can see what the problem is here.  One of them, anyway.  Not only that I counted Shaq-Fu as quality entertainment for most of my childhood, but that I chose it over super Mario on a daily basis.  I can’t believe I’m saying this now as an adult (who totally knows better now I SWEAR), but I loved that game, and it still has a strong sense of nostalgia for me. When I see that title screen I just gotta reminisce.  I didn’t realize that the controls sucked or that games were supposed to have a story, and I guess because of that I kinda grew up thinking that button mashing was a way of life. It’s like having one of those awful teachers for years, then realizing how much you’ve been screwed over when you actually move up to a better class.  Basically, I grew up with a lack of taste in games.  This one game, as well as other hot titles like Caeser’s Palace and some other random unnoticeables kind of laid the foundation of my gaming habits as a very young girl that would haunt me for years to come.

Ulgh.

So it wasn’t until I graduated to the Playstation that I started to appreciate the magic of what video games actually were.    I still remember that Christmas day, the moment I first saw that gorgeous gray console, and the crisp clicking sounds the CD cases made as I pulled them open for the first time. Man, that’s refreshing! And the games I got with it, Spyro and Crash Bandicoot, made up the next part of my collection of classics for a few years after.  But as I got older and busier, I stopped playing games altogether, and by the time I had considered starting up the habit again, I was far behind with new titles already on the market like Assassin’s Creed and Half-Life. I thought to myself “What is all this stuff? I don’t get it… Microsoft’s making games? Sonic sucks now? WHEN DID THIS ALL HAPPEN?”  Needless to say, I was a little overwhelmed by the gaming market and found myself too intimidated by the advent of these “hardcore” games to even bother picking up a controller.

Now on a quick note, I did get a chance to play Left 4 Dead a few years back at a buddy’s house, but I was really unversed and boy did it show.  In fact, my friend kindly told me that if we ever got stuck in the middle of a zombie apocalypse, my one and only job would be to stay the hell away from him. Note taken, man.

But there were a few times when I would find my way to a fighting game like Super Smash Bros. Melee where I could button mash like in the good old days, but even still nothing really struck a cord with me for quite a few years.  So when exactly did I rediscover my love for gaming?

In college, of course!  After just one semester I’d discovered the beauty of popular titles Portal, Torchlight, and Team Fortress 2, and my thirst for video gaming just started to grow. Also, I dated a brony, which helped.  But that’s a completely different story.

So here’s my brief account of why I guess I tend to feel like a total newbie on the whole gaming scene sometimes.  Since I’m just getting my toes wet in the world of gaming, I haven’t quite sweat out all of that Shaq-Fu yet. But I’m getting there, finally caving into my new interest and emptying my wallet for the newest games to taste what I’ve been missing for so many years.

Ever feel this way? Probably not, but feel free to leave a comment anyway!  I always love feedback, and thanks for reading guys.

~Andee

Leave a Reply

